Bone Therapeutics

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of Bone Therapeutics, chaired by Prof. Roland Baron, meets annually and is composed of the most renowned experts in the field of bone physiology, bone diseases and bone cell therapy.

The SAB is a neutral body that assists the management team by guiding the company on the most appropriate scientific direction, providing recommendations on scientific progress made and also offers opinions on results obtained.

Prof. Roland Baron

Prof. Roland Baron is professor at the Harvard Medical School, Endocrine Unit, Massachusetts General Hospital, and chair of Oral Medicine at the Harvard School of Dental Medicine from January 2008. From 1977 to 2007, Prof. Roland Baron was a professor in the departments of Orthopaedics and Cell Biology at Yale University School of Medicine. He received his DDS and PhD degrees from the University of Paris, France. He is the founnder and current Editor-in-Chief of BONE, the Official Journal of the International Bone and Mineral Society. Between 1994 and 2002, he also held the position of vice-president and head of the Bone Diseases Group at Hoechst Marion Roussel and then Aventis. In 2002 he founded ProSkelia, a small pharmaceutical company devoted to the discovery and development of new drugs for bone and hormonal dependent diseases. He has held the positions of President and chief scientific officer of ProSkelia and then ProStrakan, until April 2006. Prof. Baron has published over 300 scientific papers in the field of bone biology and bone diseases.

Prof. David T. Scadden

Massachusetts General Hospital

David Scadden is the Gerald and Darlene Jordan professor of Medicine at Harvard University and a haematologist and oncologist at the Massachusetts General Hospital. He founded and directs the Center for Regenerative Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital and with Douglas Melton, co-founded and co-directs the Harvard Stem Cell Institute and the Harvard University Department of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of Science, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Board of External Experts for the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute and a former member of the National Cancer Institute's Board of Scientific Counselors. He has received multiple honorary degrees, awards and memberships in honorary societies. His work emphasizes targeting the stem cell niche to attain novel therapies for blood diseases.

Prof. Steven R. Goldring

Hospital for Special Surgery

Prof. Steven R. Goldring, MD is the Richard L. Menschel Research chair and chief scientific officer at Hospital for Special Surgery and Professor of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College. He previously was a professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Chief of Rheumatology at New England Baptist Hospital and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts. He is the past president and secretary-treasurer of the American Society of Bone and Mineral Research and previously served as the chairman of the Orthopaedics and Musculoskeletal Study Section at the National Institutes of Health. Prof. Goldring is a recipient of the Klemperer Award, a co-recipient of the Carol Nachman Prize in Rheumatology and is a recent recipient of the Master's Award of the American College of Rheumatology.

Prof. Joseph Lane

Hospital for Special Surgery

Prof. Joseph Lane is assistant dean and professor of Orthopaedic Surgery at Weill Cornell Medical College and assistant dean, chief of the Metabolic Bone Disease Service, and attending orthopaedic surgeon at the Hospital for Special Surgery. He is also attending orthopaedic surgeon at New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center.

Prof. Lane received his A.B. degree from Columbia College and his M.D. from Harvard Medical School. He performed his general surgical internship and residency and three-year orthopaedic residency at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. From 1973 to 1975, Prof. Lane was the Elsee Butz assistant professor (Orthopaedics) at the Hospital University of Pennsylvania and Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. He was appointed assistant professor and chief of the Metabolic Bone Disease Service at the Hospital for Special Surgery at Cornell University's medical school in 1975, ultimately attaining full professorship, assistant dean, director of clinical research, and medical director of the Metabolic Bone Disease Service and Osteoporosis Prevention. Prof. Lane was also appointed chief of the Bone Tumor Service at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center from 1976 to 1991 and senior attending from 1991 to 1993. From 1993 to 1996 he was professor and chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at UCLA.

Prof. Sundeep Khosla

Mayo Clinic

Prof. Sundeep Khosla is the Dr. Francis Chucker and Nathan Landow research professor of medicine and physiology, Mayo Foundation distinguished investigator, director of the Center for Clinical and Translational Science, and dean for Clinical and Translational Science at Mayo Clinic. Prof. Khosla received his A.B. degree from Harvard College and his M.D. from Harvard Medical School. He was subsequently a resident in Internal Medicine and a fellow in Endocrinology at the Massachusetts General Hospital. In 1988 he moved to the Mayo Clinic, where his research interests include mechanisms of age-related bone loss and sex steroid regulation of bone metabolism. Prof. Khosla has served as Chair of the NIH SBDD Study Section, on the Council of the National Institute on Aging, and as President of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research. He has received numerous awards and honours for his work, including the Frederic C. Bartter Award for Clinical Investigation and the William F. Neuman Award for Outstanding Scientific Contributions from the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research, the Outstanding Clinical Investigator Award from the Endocrine Society, and election to the ASCI and AAP. Prof. Khosla currently serves as the editor-in-chief of Bone, has served as associate editor of the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research and as a member of the editorial boards for the Journal of Clinical Investigation, Journal of Bone and Mineral Research, Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, Bone, and Endocrine Reviews.