Bone Therapeutics

Board of Directors

Bone Therapeutics is committed to implementing the highest processes and standards of corporate governance, while ensuring that its business model is relevant, efficient and cost effective to the Company and its investors.

The Board of Directors is made up of the Chairman, six non-executive Directors (five of which are independent) and two executive Directors.

Jean Stéphenne  – Chairman

Jean Stéphenne is a highly-experienced life sciences executive, who has served in senior leadership roles at a large number of biotechnology and pharmaceutical companies, most recently as Chairman of TiGenix. Together with the Board of TiGenix, he oversaw the clinical development and European marketing authorisation of its most advanced allogeneic cell therapy product for the treatment of complex perianal fistulas in Crohn’s disease.

Jean Stéphenne was also previously a Member of the Corporate Executive Team of GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) and Chief Executive of GSK Biologicals (now GSK Vaccines). During his 40-year tenure, he grew a company of 50 people into a fully integrated worldwide leader in vaccine development, with 12,000 employees.

Jean Stéphenne currently serves on the Board of various life sciences companies including TiGenix, Vaxxilon, OncoDNA, CureVac and Bepharbel. Previous board positions include Besix Group, BNP Paribas Fortis, GBL and IBA. For his contribution to the Belgian economy and global public health, he has received diverse business recognitions and was honoured with various titles by the Belgian and British governments.

Claudia D’Augusta  PhD – Independent Director

Claudia D'Augusta is a seasoned financial professional with more than 20 years’ experience in corporate finance, capital markets and M&A. She is currently Chief Financial Officer at TiGenix N.V. and is part of the management team at TiGenix, which Takeda has announced its intention to acquire for EUR 520 million. Prior to TiGenix, Claudia D'Augusta held various other senior financial positions across a number of international public and private companies. Claudia D'Augusta holds a degree in Economics and a Ph.D. in Business Administration from the University of Bocconi, Milan, Italy.

Damian Marron  – Independent Director

Damian Marron is an experienced life sciences executive with a successful track record of value creation through public and venture capital financing, portfolio planning and turnaround, M&A, licensing agreements and research and marketing collaborations. He has particular competencies in cell therapy, immuno-oncology and orphan diseases. Damian served most recently as Chief Executive Officer of Agalimmune and has also served as Chief Executive Officer of TxCell, a France-based specialist in personalised T-cell immunotherapies, where he led the Company’s IPO on Euronext Paris. As Chief Executive Officer of Trophos, France, he helped raise EUR 34 million in financing and positioned the company for a subsequent acquisition by Roche for EUR 700 million. Damian Marron also served as Executive Vice President, Corporate Development, for NiCox, where he supported the CEO in financing rounds raising over EUR 175 million.

Gloria Matthews  DVM, PhD, DACVS – Independent Director

Gloria Matthew has more than 20 years of research and clinical experience in orthopaedics, osteoarthritis, rheumatology and cartilage repair with extensive expertise in medical devices, biologicals, and regenerative medicine. She has a strong track record of supporting life sciences companies to grow and evolve from start-up stage to fully integrated biopharma companies and has built an impressive business and medical network over the years. She was Senior Vice President of MiMedx, a biopharma company focused on the development and commercialisation of regenerative and therapeutic biologicals in wound care, and spine and sports medicine. Prior to that, she was Chief Medical Officer of the restorative cell therapy company Histogenics and Senior Director of Orthopaedics at Genzyme, a Sanofi company.

Jean-Paul Prieels  PhD – Independent Director 

Jean-Paul Prieels holds a PhD in Biochemistry from Université Libre de Bruxelles in Belgium. He started his industrial career at Petrofina in 1983 as Biotechnology Manager and joined GlaxoSmithKline Biologicals in 1987. His responsibilities gradually expanded to lead the vaccine preclinical R&D development activities as Senior Vice President of Research & Development at GlaxoSmithKline Biological in Rixensart, Belgium, until 2011. His career spans from basic research to applied research and product development. He was instrumental in the development of several commercially available vaccines, such as Rotarix, Cervarix and Synflorix. Today he is Director at Vaximm AG, Abivax SA, Promethera Biosciences, Pluriomics, Themis, Leukocare, Nouscom, Ogeda, Q-Biologicals SA, DNAlytics and PDC*Line Pharma. He is member of the Scientific Advisory Board of Singapore Bioprocessing Technology Institute, CureVac and MolMed SPA and member of the European Vaccine Initiative Board of Stakeholders.

Jean-Luc Vandebroek – Permanent representative of Finsys Management SPRL, Executive Managing Director

Jean-Luc Vandebroek is a seasoned finance executive with extensive international finance experience at major public and privately-owned companies. Jean-Luc has built a successful career spanning 15 years at the Belgian-US retailer, Delhaize Group (now Ahold Delhaize). During this period, he held various senior financial positions with increasing responsibility, including roles as Corporate Director Finance Europe and US and Vice President Finance BeLux. He later became Group Chief Financial Officer at Fluxys, a listed, pan-European gas infrastructure group, where he was responsible for the financing of large infrastructure investments using diverse forms of funding on capital markets. Prior to joining Bone Therapeutics, Jean-Luc served as Director and Chief Financial Officer of Moteo Two Wheels and Bihr Europe, the motorcycle division of Alcopa Group, a Belgian family holding with an annual revenue of around EUR 1.7 billion.